Home


I don’t really feel like I have a home anymore. I am not even sure what the concept of “home” means to me now. Is it where my friends and family live? Is it the place I feel most comfortable? Is it the place I have lived the longest? Tucson has, and always will be my hometown, but I haven’t really lived there in 5 years, and now Philadelphia feels a lot like home because I have grown so much there and experienced so much while in college. Even NYC feels kinda like home sometimes because I have so many friends living there.

Currently, I don’t own a set of keys. My stuff is stored in 3 cities on 2 continents. I live out of bags and haven’t used a dresser in 6 months. I don’t have a schedule; my life changes from week to week. The place I sleep is not really my “home” and even that locations changes often.

I guess this is just a growing pain – part of leaving your hometown – and also a natural byproduct of how I have chosen to live my life. I decided to move across the country for college, I decided to move across the Atlantic for my first job after college, and I decided to visit Europe this sumer rather than return to the States. But I have to say that I miss my friends and family A LOT and I am actually starting to miss America. I think these feelings of loneliness will soon pass and I will be back to loving my life of travel and adventure, but I felt the need to get this off my chest.

So friends and family I love and miss you all dearly and I will be home soon, but for now I have a wonderlust to get out of my system.

One Response to “Home”

  1. Loren Says:

    It is an interesting and fun topic to discuss. I’ve talked about it with a few others and I know exactly how you feel… check out my very very first post from over a year ago, ha.

Leave a Reply

