Back in Ghana

When I first arrived in Ghana, on January 14th, 2008, I had no idea what to expect from my new life. I was nervous, sad to leave my friends and family behind, eager to impress my new employer, and anxious to find out what my life in Accra would be like, but mostly memorably, I was scared out of my mind.

But returning to Accra just several days ago, on August 4th, 2008, I feel I have experienced so much in the past 7 month, such that my fear is almost entirely gone. Mostly, this is due to the fact that I now know what to expect from Accra and my job. My imagination is not able to run away with wild conjectures as it did in January because I now know what lies beyond the reception area of Kotoko Airport. I know where my bed is, I know what kind of work I will be doing, and I know who I will be working with.

It is interesting for me to compare Jareau circa January 2008 to Jareau circa August 2008. I am not entirely sure what all the differences and distinctions are yet, but I am quite certain these two versions of myself are markedly different in terms of maturity, adaptability, patience, and understanding of what is important in life. I am very excited to discover how I have grown, but I feel it is a process I cannot force.

One Response to “Back in Ghana”

  1. Daisy Baffoe Says:

    this is really interesting to know 🙂 i am happy for you and i hopeyou enjoy the rest of your stay in Ghana!!!

Leave a Reply

