Seth Godin says, "Don’t go to business school"


I received an email a few days ago from a friend who does internet marketing in NYC, stating that Seth Godin was doing something crazy. He was offering an alternative MBA program to those who have come to the realization that business school is highly overrated and very expensive (opp cost + real cost). Well, actually, it’s more of an apprenticeship, but he is marketing it as an Alternative-MBA program and he is a “marketing guru” so I guess I will trust him. Regardless, it fits pretty well with some of my thoughts and interest right now.

For those of you who don’t know Seth Godin, he writes this blog, these books, and sounds/looks like this.

But back to the point: I always assumed I would get an MBA. Many of my mentors, understanding my aptitudes and career goals, have advised me to do so. Indeed, it seems like a logical next step after forcing my way through an undergraduate engineering degree that served mainly to confirm my assumption that I am best situated on the business-end of technology, but recently I have started to wonder what an MBA would actually do for me. I admit I could use some of the financial and program management training, but, really, I think I could learn those things on the job.

Seth Godin has blogged about not going to B-school once or twice before, even hinting that he would start his own business school. Godin has also long been a supporter of and contributor to the Personal MBA movement.

So, for those of you interested in learning more please check out this link an apply:
http://www.squidoo.com/Alternative-MBA

Deadline: 14 December 2008
Program begins: 19 January 2009

-J K Wade

Leave a Reply

